Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Oh what a day this Day 7 turned out to be!

Remember my healthy recipes are based on a six day week. Day 7 allows us to “be evil” in what we eat! Sometimes we are gently forced to do this because company’s coming and they aren’t as obsessed as I am with eating healthy.

I have 4 pounds of strawberries and a little rhubarb in the garden. I have to make a pie because Laurie has a sweet tooth. Here’s how I went about it.

Culinarycafe.com is ranked 24th on my list of best cooking web sites. I may have to move them up.

Their Basic Pie Crust recipe always works for me. It may be a bit buttery but that’s why it’s so good. In addition I only make pies when company’s coming and Laurie and Jamie will love this one. The recipe can be viewed at:

http://www.culinarycafe.com/Pies-Pasteries/Basic_Pie_Crust.html

In addition I like their Strawberry Rhubarb Pie recipe which can be viewed at:

http://www.culinarycafe.com/Fruits/Strawberry_Rhubarb_Pie.html

Problem! I don’t have enough rhubarb, so what should I add?

Ranked first on my list is Recipezaar.com which is now Food.com. I searched for a multi-berry recipe and here’s what I found:

http://www.food.com/recipe/sensational-triple-berry-pie-430649

7 cups of fruit is the magic number. I added blackberries to the strawberries and rhubarb and ended up with an awesome-tasting pie.

Leave a Reply

